Baedeker is your local guide
to unique places that cant be found online!

Hermanus arrow_forward_ios

Hermanus offer you a vast myriad of 100's of incredible award winning Wines to taste, at over 70 pretty Wineries all set in outstanding scenery, from coastal to mountainous. Excellent lunch-time Restaurants at these Wineries will serve up delicious meals that totally compliment your Wines.

Your Wine Tour Guide will collect you from your accommodation and chauffeur you to any combination of these Wine farms as you desire - or we can easily compile a tour for you of our favorite Wineries, tailor-making a Wine Tour to exactly match your own individual wine taste-buds - or you might wish to experiment and try new wines too.......

South Africa is now the 7th largest producer of Wine in the world, with last years production being just over 1,100 million litres - of which 525 million litres were exported.

TheHermanus wine region is an easy 1 hour drive from Cape Town and is called Walker Bay (check out the Google Map below) and covers towns and areas from Elgin and Grabouw, thro' Botrivier to Hermanus and the Hemel-en-Aarde valley, onwards to Stanford and Elim - close to the southern tip of Africa - Cape Agulhas.

This region is highly influenced by the cooling Atlantic Ocean that sweeps up past Cape Town and brings with it a satisfying cool breeze that cools down the grapes that are grown here.

So the predominant grape types (cultivars) that grow very well here are mainly French, German and northern Italian - such as - Sauvignon Blanc, Chardonnay, Pinot Noir, Syrah (Shiraz), Mourvedre, Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon and Pinotage (a South African creation, by grafting 2 vine cultivars together - Pinot Noir and Cinsaut, also known as Hermitage).

Haenertsburg arrow_forward_ios

Haenertsburg is a village situated on the edge of the Great Escarpment in the Limpopo Province of South Africa.

Farming and tourism are the main economic activities on "The Mountain" as it is fondly called by the locals; Haenertsburg is in hilly terrain. The Iron Crown mountain is the highest point in Limpopo and is a well-known landmark.

On the R71 road between Polokwane (formerly: Pietersburg) and Tzaneen en route to the Kruger National Park.

Pretoria arrow_forward_ios

Pretoria is a city in the northern part of Gauteng province in South Africa.

It straddles the Apies River and has spread eastwards into the foothills of the Magaliesberg mountains. It is one of the country's three capital cities, serving as the seat of the administrative branch of government (Cape Town is the legislative capital and Bloemfontein the judicial capital), and of foreign embassies to South Africa. Pretoria has a reputation for being an academic city with three universities and the Council for Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR) located in its eastern suburbs. The city also hosts the South African Bureau of Standards making the city a hub for research. Pretoria is the central part of the Tshwane Metropolitan Municipality which was formed by the amalgamation of several former local authorities including Centurion and Soshanguve. There have been proposals to change the name of Pretoria itself to Tshwane, and the proposed name change has caused some public controversy.